ISBN 9788171674879,76 Short Stories

76 Short Stories


Rupa & Co



Rupa & Co

Publication Year 2004

ISBN 9788171674879

ISBN-10 8171674879


Number of Pages 468 Pages
Language (English)


Saki'S Stories Blend Laughter And Savagery With Startling Effect. His First Book, The Rise Of The Russian Empire (1889), Was The Only One Written In A Serious Vein. Thereafter, He Adopted The Pseudonym 'Saki' (The Name Of The Cup-Bearer In The Last Stanza Of The Rubaiyat Of Omar Khayyam) For His Collection Of Short Stories: Reginald (1904), Reginald In Russia And Other Sketches (1910), The Chronicles Of Clovis (1912) And Beasts And Superbeasts (1914). Whimsical In Their Plots And Light Heartedly Cynical In Their Tone, Those Stories Are Also Given A Darker Side By Munro'S Memories Of His Unhappy Childhood With His Aunts. He Also Published Two Novels, The Unbearable Bassington (1912) And When William Came (1913), The Latter A Satirical Fantasy Subtitled 'A Story Of London Under The Hohenzollerns'. Two Collections Of Stories And Sketches Appeared Posthumously: The Toys Of Peace And Other Papers (1919) And The Square Egg And Other Sketches (1924). About The Author Saki (Hector Hugh Munro) Was Born In Akyab, Burma (Myanmar) In 1870 To An Officer In The Burma Police And Was Brought Up By Two Maiden Aunts In Devon. After Being Educated At A School In Exmouth And At Bedford Grammar School, He Followed His Father Into The Burma Police. In 1896, He Settled In London And Started His Career In Journalism And Creative Writing. Munro Served With The Royal Fusiliers In World War I And Was Killed On The Western Front In 1916.

More from Author