ISBN 9788129119261,A Hundred Lamps

A Hundred Lamps


Rupa & Co



Rupa & Co

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9788129119261

ISBN-10 8129119269


Number of Pages 216 Pages
Language (English)


Doctors, those men and women who are often compared to God and to whom we rush to in moments of crisis and peril. But what are their personal lives like? What trials and tribulations do these healers undergo, in the course of discharging their duties? These seven stories, ringed with tenderness and truth, capture the clinical drama, excitement, conflicts, love and passion in the lives of medical practitioners. Regaling you with the ancient wisdom of age-old Sushruta?s code, life in the hamlets of Purnea, a physician?s lonely battle against the bureaucracy, an inquest into what ails large medical institutions, a collaboration between Ayurveda and allopathy, and other aspects of doctors? lives, these stories delve into the myriad dimensions of medical practices and beyond. Translated from the works of some of the best-known Hindi authors, this anthology details the moral code, the social pressures and political hassles that doctors must live with, and the yardsticks of being a messiah that they must fulfil. About The Author Senior physician, columnist, broadcaster, poet, teacher and author, Dr Yatish Agarwal, MBBS, DTCD, MD, DSc, works and teaches at New Delhi?s Safdarjung Hospital and VM Medical College. His writings have been appearing in national dailies and periodicals since 1980. His books have sold over one-and-a-half million copies, and have been translated into many languages. He has scripted television shows, radio features and development films, and has been a national consultant, adviser and editor for several major national and international organisations. He has received several national awards, including the Indira Gandhi National Award (2006), Rajiv Gandhi National Award (2005), Indian Council of Medical Research Award (2004), Indian Science Writers Association Lifetime Award (2003), Litt?rateur Award of Hindi Akademi (2003), Dr. Meghnad Saha Award (2002), Shiksha Award (2001), National Science Award (2000) and Atmaram Award (1999).