ISBN 9789382618065,Devdutt Pattanaik Boxset (Set Of 3 Books)

Devdutt Pattanaik Boxset (Set Of 3 Books)



Westland Publications

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9789382618065

ISBN-10 9382618066


Language (English)

ELT workbooks, practice books & exercises

Devdutt Pattanaik Boxset (Set of 3 Books) contains three books, 7 Secrets of Shiva, 7 Secrets of Vishnu, and 7 Secrets from Hindu Calendar Art. Summary Of The Book Devdutt Pattanaik has specialized in presenting Hindu mythology for the new generation. He also explains the symbolism and meanings of Hindu traditions, beliefs and images. Devdutt Pattanaik Boxset (Set of 3 Books) contains 7 Secrets of Shiva, which explains the stories related to Shiva and their deeper meanings. This book looks into 7 different aspects of Shiva. Shiva is worshipped in a number of forms, some of which might seem contradictory. He is worshipped as a hermit, an ascetic, as a family man, and in other forms. Here, the author takes up for study the Lingeshwara, Kala Bhairava, Shankara, and Nataraja forms. He explains how the Lingeshwara form goes beyond the obvious symbolism and represents a calm and content mind. The Bhairava form destroys fear, while Shankara and Bholenath signify Shakthi’s attempts to draw him into the material world, and the Nataraja form is the Cosmic dance that results in the dissolution of the Universe. The author also examines Ganesha and Karthikeya, Shiva’s sons, as two other form of Shiva. In 7 Secrets of Vishnu, the author takes up the meanings behind the stories surrounding Vaishnavite traditions. He explains that while Vishnu had many avatars, when he descended to the Earth, and the ten mentioned are most popular for they carry special significance. He then elucidates how the 10 major avatars represent the physical and spiritual evolution of man. The book also tells the story of Lakshmi and her inauspicious counterpart, Alakshmi, and why Brahma is not worshipped in temples. It also explains how the male and female symbolism complement each other and how they are irrelevant without each other. In 7 Secrets of Hindu Calendar Art, the author explains how the forms representing various Gods in the Hindu Pantheon are all highly symbolic in nature. Their form, their weapons, their vehicle, everything has a meaning. The author explains the deeper ideas that the forms of Ganesha, Narayana, Ardhanari, Shiva, Devi, Vishnu and Brahma represent. Besides these major representations, the chapters also discuss other forms like Kartikeya, Gayatri, Chamunda and Chotila, and the poet saint Andal. The author discusses numerous other images often portrayed in Hindu Calendar art and their significance. Devdutt Pattanaik Boxset (Set of 3 Books) is a comprehensive collection that can help readers gain a deeper insight into Hinduism and the symbolic significance of the stories and imagery. About Devdutt Pattanaik Devdutt Pattanaik is a doctor and an expert on Hindu Mythology and symbolism. His other books include Shiva: An Introduction, Vin?yaka: The First God, The Goddess in India: The Five Faces of the Eternal Feminine, Hanuman's Ramayan, and Myth=Mithya: A Handbook of Hindu Mythology. Devdutt Pattanaik graduated with a degree in medicine from Grant Medical College in Mumbai. He then decided to focus on his passion for Hindu mythology and traditions. He conducts classes and seminars that teach business and life lessons based on Hindu epics and puranas. He writes prolifically on Hindu Gods and Goddesses and the meanings of the symbols and rituals. He is the Chief Belief Officer of Future Group.