ISBN 9788130912950,Harold Bloom’S Shakespeare Through The Ages (Set Of 15 Volume)

Harold Bloom’S Shakespeare Through The Ages (Set Of 15 Volume)


Harold Bloom


Viva Books Pvt Ltd



Viva Books Pvt Ltd

Publication Year 2010

ISBN 9788130912950

ISBN-10 8130912953


Number of Pages 4872 Pages
Language (English)


Titles in the Set:
Antony and Cleopatra
King Lear
As You Like It
The Merchant of Venice
Romeo and Juliet
A Midsummer Night's Dream
The Sonnets
The Tempest
Julius Caesar
Twelfth Night
The Taming of The Shrew
Henry IV, Part I

Each volume in the Bloom's Shakespeare Through the Ages contains the finest criticism on a particular work from the Bard's oeuvre, selected under the guidance of renowned Shakespearean scholar, Harold Bloom. Intended for students just beginning their exploration of Shakespeare, these invaluable study guides present the best of Shakespeare criticism, from the 17th centaury to today. In the process, each volume also charts the flow over time of critical discussion of a particular work.

This essential set is unique not only in the range of commetnary it provides on each of Shakespeare's greatest works, but also in its emphasis on the greatest critics in our literary tradition - including such critics as John Dryden in the 17th century, Samuel Johnson in the 18th century, William Hazlitt and Samuel Taylor Coleridge in the 19th century, A. C. Bradley and William Empson in the 20th century, and many more. Some of the pieces included are full-length essays; others are excerpts designed to present a key point.

Each title features:
A selection of the best criticism on the work through the centuries
Introductory essays on the development of criticism on the work in each century
A brief biography of Shakespeare
A plot synopsis, list of characters, and analysis of several key passages
An introduction by Harold Bloom.