ISBN 9780006513773,Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories

Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories



HarperCollins UK Original

Publication Year 1999

ISBN 9780006513773

ISBN-10 0006513778


Number of Pages 864 Pages
Language (English)

Short stories

Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories contains 51 short stories of crime solving by the famous detective Hercule Poirot. These stories capture all of this mysterious detective’s feats in solving the crimes of the world.

Poirot grabs attention right at the start with his odd appearance. His long, twirly moustache, egg-shaped head, and peculiar mannerisms have made him a memorable detective, next only to Sherlock Holmes in popularity. He has even solved some of the most mind-boggling crimes of the twentieth century.

In creating this character, Agatha Christie had put a lot of thought into how she would want her detective to look and be. Sherlock Holmes and Arsene Lupin were two detectives that she looked up to and whose qualities she pondered over in search of a model detective. She finally settled on a Belgian detective after she thought of the large Belgian community that lived in the parish of Tor.

Hercule Poirot first appeared in The Mysterious Affair at Styles. Both the story and the character were a success, and it was suggested to Agatha that she continues using this detective as a central character in her subsequent books. She did feature this detective in several books. The result is that Poirot is now one of the greatest fictional characters in the world of crime fiction, appearing in a play, 33 novels, and 51 short stories.

These short stories have been published in the order of their publication. Hercule Poirot: The Complete Short Stories will be a delightful treat for Agatha Christie fans and those who have come to love the detective through his many TV and film appearances. There’s even a bonus story in there! It’s a story of Agatha Christie’s that hadn’t been published since 1936.

Murder in the Mews, The Labours of Hercules, The Arcadian Deer, and The Capture of Cerberus are among the stories contained in this book.

About Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie is an English crime fiction writer who has been known as the Queen of Crime.

She has written books such as Murder on the Orient Express, Death on the Nile, A Murder is Announced, and Sleeping Murder: Miss Marple’s Last Case.

Agatha was born in 1890 in Torquay in South West England. She was homeschooled by her father in her early years, and by the age of five, taught herself to read. Agatha spent her childhood reading and later took up singing and piano lessons. By the time she was 18, she had already begun writing short stories. She start her career with her debut novel The Mysterious Affair at Styles. After achieving success with her first novel, her career began to take flight. Today, she’s regarded as the best-selling author of all time. Many of her works have even been adapted to the screen. Even animated versions and video games bearing Agatha’s characters and stories exist.