ISBN 9788129131393,Masterpieces Of World Fiction: Selected Stories

Masterpieces Of World Fiction: Selected Stories


Rupa & Co



Rupa & Co

Publication Year 2014

ISBN 9788129131393

ISBN-10 8129131390


Number of Pages 150 Pages
Language (English)

ELT literature & fiction readers

The Highly Acclaimed Debut And Winner Of The Betty Trask Award And The Authors Club First Novel Award From The Author Of Maps For Lost Lovers. Set During A Monsoon Season In The 1980S In A Small Town In Pakistan, Season Of The Rainbirds Is Centred On The Mysterious Reappearance Of A Sack Of Letters Lost In A Train Crash Nineteen Years Previously. Could The Letters Have Any Bearing On Judge Anwars Murder? The Letters And The Judges Death Trigger A Series Of Tragic Events And As The Murder Investigation Progresses, Dark Tales Of Passion And Betrayal Unfold And Long-Buried Secrets Come To Light. The Narrative Segues Between Several Characters The Judges Family, A Cleric Troubled By Local Inhabitants Lapses, A Muslim Deputy Commissioner Defiantly Involved With A Christian Woman, A Feudal Landlord And A Crusading Journalist Reporting On The Delivery Of The Mail Packet And Comes To A Head When The Journalist Disappears And The Country Lurches Between Fear And Uncertainty Following An Assassination Attempt On The President. One Of The Most Exquisite Fictional Debuts, Season Of The Rainbirds Is A Compelling Portrayal Of A Society In Strife, Of A Timeless World Where Daily Rituals Are Played Out Against An Ominous Landscape Of Oppression, Decadence, Bigotry And Power. About The Author Nadeem Aslam Is The Author Of The Award-Winning Season Of The Rainbirds (1993) And The Wasted Vigil (2008). Born In Pakistan, He Now Lives In England.