ISBN 9788171569380,Principles And Theory Of Political Science

Principles And Theory Of Political Science



Atlantic Publishers & Distributors Pvt Ltd

Publication Year 2007

ISBN 9788171569380

ISBN-10 8171569382

Paper Back

Number of Pages 306 Pages
Language (English)

Political Science

This book deals with the principles and the theory of political science. Besides the introductory portion including definition, scope, value, nature and methods of political science, this book includes the discussion on all those topics which find a place in the syllabi of Political Theory or Principles of Political Science in any Indian University. These include : Political Power, Behavioural and Post-Behavioural Revolutions, The State, The Rise and Growth of Nation States, The Political System, Sovereignty, Monist and Pluralist View of Sovereignty, The Theory of Rights, Concepts of Liberty, Concept of Equality, Law and International Law, Concept of Property, Concept of Justice, Political Obligation, Political Revolution, Punishment etc.
As Political Sociology is today an integral part of Political Science, this book deals with the main concepts of Political Sociology including Political Development, Political Culture, Political Socialisation, Political Participation, Political Recruitment, Political Elites, Political Alienation, Political Communication, Political Legitimacy and Effectiveness and Bureaucracy.
Principles of Political Science deal with the theories of state and government. Thus, this book discusses forms of government, Democracy, Socialism, Marxism, Syndicalism, Guild Socialism, Evolutionary Socialism, Fabianism, Anarchism, Fascism, Liberalism, Individualism and Sarvodaya. A Bibliography has been given at the end for those who desire to go to originals and have a wide study of the subjects.

About Author:
Dr. Urmila Sharma, M.A., Ph.D., daughter of renowned Indian Political Scientist Dr. B.M. Sharma stood first in B.A. in Ist Division at Mahila College in 1956; she stood first in first division in M.A. (Political Science) in 1958 receiving highest marks in all the faculties of Lucknow University and was awarded four gold medals. During 1958-59 she was lecturer in P.G. Department of Political Science at R.G. College, Meerut. During 1959-1962, she received U.G.C. Research Fellowship. Since then she has been continuously engaged in research and writing. In 1980, she received her Ph.D degree on now published work Humanism in Contemporary Indian Political Thought. She is the author of many books on Political Science in both English and Hindi.
Dr. S.K. Sharma, M.A. (History), M.A. (Pol.Sc.), LLB., Ph.D. (London), taught Political Science to under-graduate and post-graduate students for three decades and retired as Head of the Department of Political Science, Meerut College, Meerut. Author of about fifty research papers Dr. Sharma guided Ph.D. research and attended numerous seminars in India and abroad. He obtained Ph.D. degree from London University on his now published work on Harold Laski