ISBN 9788126542734,Principles of Heat and Mass Transfer

Principles of Heat and Mass Transfer


Incropera F P



Wiley India Pvt Ltd

Publication Year 2014

ISBN 9788126542734

ISBN-10 812654273X


Number of Pages 912 Pages
Language (English)

Computer software

Principles of Heat and Mass Transfer 7th Edition is a comprehensive book for undergraduate mechanical engineers. Designed to be used for a one semester course on heat and mass transfer, the book teaches students the basic principles of heat transfer, covering conduction, convection and radiation. It also discusses the applications of the subject, explaining how critical elements of the mechanical industry such as heat exchangers work. In addition, the book discusses the basic tenets of mass transfer, taking readers through diffusion and flow. It is an essential title for any student studying heat and mass transfer prior to beginning an advanced course on the sub-topics. About the Authors Frank P. Incropera is an American mechanical engineer and writer. The Clifford and Evelyn Brosey Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, Indiana, Dr. Incropera is known for his work on heat transfer, and radiation transfer in scattering-absorbing media and double diffusive convection. A mechanical engineering graduate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he completed his postgraduate degree at the Stanford University and went on to work for Lockheed Missiles & Space Company, Sunnyvale, California. His profile also boasts experience at institutions such as Stanford University, Purdue University and the University of Notre Dame, where he was the Clifford and Evelyn Brosey Professor of Mechanical Engineering and the Matthew H. McCloskey Dean of Engineering. David P. Dewitt is an American mechanical engineer and the former Deputy Director of the Thermophysical Properties Research Center at Purdue University where he was also a professor emeritus. A former professor at the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, Dr. Dewitt has been working as a part-time Faculty Appointment staff in the Optical Technology Division at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, where he has been the project leader for the Rapid Thermal Processing Temperature and the Heat Flux projects. Theodore L. Bergman is a professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Kansas University School of Engineering. He was also the Head of the Mechanical Engineering Department and Associate Dean of Engineering for Research and Outreach at the University of Connecticut. He is known in the field of thermal sciences for his contribution to advanced manufacturing and alternative energy systems. He has also served as an Associate Editor for the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer and Frontiers in Heat Transfer and has received the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the ASME Heat Transfer Division Best Paper Award, and the ASME Melville Medal. Adrienne S. Lavine is the Professor and Vice-Chancellor of Undergraduate Affairs at the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles.She is known for her contributions to the subjects of solar thermal energy storage, thermal energy harvesting, thermal control of nanoscale manufacturing, thermomechanical behavior of shape memory alloys, thermal aspects of manufacturing processes including machining and plasma thermal spray.