ISBN 9788183244114,Saarc Nations

Saarc Nations



Mittal Publications

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9788183244114

ISBN-10 8183244114


Number of Pages 415 Pages
Language (English)

International relations

SAARC is a prominent body. Among various regional organizations, the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is an organisation of Eight South Asian nations, founded in December 1985 and dedicated to economic, technological, social, and cultural development, emphasizing upon collective self-reliance. Its seven founding members were Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan joined the organisation in 2005. Meetings of heads of state are usually scheduled annually and meetings of foreign secretaries, bi-annually. It is headquartered in Kathmandu, Nepal. The sixteen stated areas of cooperation are culture, social development, agriculture and rural matters, biotechnology, energy, environment, economy and trade, finance, funding mechanism, human resource development, poverty alleviation, people to people contact, security aspects, science and technology; communications and tourism.

More from Author