ISBN 9781409103158,Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves



Orion Publishing Group

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9781409103158

ISBN-10 1409103153


Number of Pages 480 Pages
Language (English)

Crime & Mystery

The Army of Thieves are operating from Dragon Island, which was once a Soviet Base in the Arctic during the Cold War period. It was an important research centre for the Soviet weapons program for which the Russian scientists had an unlimited budget. A weapon possessing immense destructive power had been developed there and later abandoned at the end of the cold war. The control of this secret facility, though presumed to be shutdown, has fallen into the hands of the Army of Thieves. They are reactivating the same with sinister motives. Consisting of murderers, militants, fundamentalists, anarchists, and narco-terrorists from countries dominated by such renegades, they are led by a mysterious Lord of Anarchy. The mass destruction weapon named Tesla is being prepared to be unleashed upon the world. The Russian government fails in its efforts to eliminate this danger. One of their researchers sent with a team of scientists to Dragon Island sends a distress signal before their plane is shot down by The Army. The same is picked up by US monitoring stations in Alaska. An emergency contingency plan is set in motion under the command of Navy Captain, Schofield, with call-sign Scarecrow. Schofield is from the US Marine Corps. He has earned a lot of enemies from his past adventures. As Schofield embarks on his new mission, he is also wary of a price on his head offered by the French government in retaliation for some of his past actions against them. Another team of a navy SEAL unit is also on the same assignment as Schofield to foil the Army of Thieves' menace. Many of the SEAL members are killed by the Army. Schofield and his small unit set about the impossible task against many odds. The leader of the Army of Thieves, the Lord of Anarchy is all set to unleash his powerful weapons of mass destruction. Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves was the largest-selling fiction story in Australia in 2011. About Matthew Reilly Matthew John Reilly was born on July 2, 1974, and is an Australian action thriller writer. The Five Greatest Warriors, Hell Island, Ice Station, Seven Ancient Wonders, The Six Sacred Stones, and Area 7 are some of Matthew Reilly's other books. His novels are noted for their fast pace, twisting plots, and intense action. After graduating from Sydney's St Aloysius' College, University of New South Wales in 1992, Reilly studied Law at the University of New South Wales. His wife, Natalie, died in early December 2011. Seven Ancient Wonders and The Five Greatest Warriors were two of Reilly's books that became the bestselling Australian books on the year of their release.