ISBN 9780007350797,Sense and Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility


Jane Austen


Harper Collins



Harper Collins

Publication Year 2010

ISBN 9780007350797

ISBN-10 0007350791


Number of Pages 400 Pages
Language (English)


Sense and Sensibility is a romantic fiction that was first published in 1811 under the author’s pseudonym "A Lady". The story revolves around two Dashwood sisters, Elinor and Marianne. Set in England between between 1792 and 1797, Mrs. Dashwood and her three daughters must leave Norland and move to Barton Park. Elinor, the eldest and the most sensible, is heartbroken to be leaving her lover Edward Ferrars behind.

However, the Dashwoods make new friends in their new place of stay. They meet Colonel Brandon, a 35 year old bachelor, who is attracted to Marianne. Seventeen year old Marianne however is spontaneous and believes in romantic idealism. She isn’t fond of the Colonel, and instead falls in love with the handsome John Willoughby. The two of them openly flaunt their relationship, and Elinor tells Marianne to stop such misconduct. Suddenly Willoughby announces that he must move to London, leaving the young girl behind.

In the meantime, distant relatives Anne and Lucy Steele come to visit Barton Park. These two uneducated and selfish sisters tell Elinor that Lucy is secretly engaged to Edward Ferrars. Elinor is heartbroken, but she tries to control her emotions so that her family doesn’t feel her pain. On the onset of winter, Elinor and Marianne visit London. They meet Willoughby who mistreats Marianne, and sends her a letter announcing his engagement to someone else. This comes as a shock to the younger sister, and her falls extremely sick. Willoughby realizes his mistake, and comes to ask for forgiveness.

As they experience love, and have their hearts broken, will they be able to find happiness? Sense and Sensibility is a book about betrayal, love, loss, and more. Sense and Sensibility has been adapted into television shows and films numerous times.

About Jane Austen

Jane Austen, born in 1775, was an English writer, and is one of the most widely read in English literature.

Austen put together twenty-nine pieces of her work that she had written from 1787 to 1793 into three bound notebooks, today known as Juvenilia. From 1793, the author started working on more sophisticated pieces. Her second novel was published in 1796. It was titled First Impressions, but later became Pride and Prejudice. Some of her other novels areMansfield Park, Emma, Northanger Abbey (posthumous), and Persuasion (posthumous).

Austen started penning down poems, plays, and stories from 1787. Her family’s support helped her to become a professional writer. In 1816, Austen health started to deteriorate. She passed away in 1817 at the age of 41.