ISBN 9780007428533,The Chronicles Of Narnia

The Chronicles Of Narnia




Publication Year 2011

ISBN 9780007428533

ISBN-10 0007428537


Language (English)


The Chronicles Of Narnia by C. S. Lewis is a series of seven high-fantasy novels. Summary Of The Book This series is set in the fictional world of Narnia. It is a fantasy world of magic, talking animals, and mythical beasts. The books describe the adventure of several children who play main roles in the history of that world. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is about the story of four ordinary Pevensie children, Peter, Edmund, Susan, and Lucy. In Professor Digory Kirke's house, they find a wardrobe that leads them to the magical land of Narnia. In Narnia, they help Aslan, a talking lion and save Narnia from the evil white witch. Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia is the story about the Pevensie children's return to Narnia in response to the call of the prince Caspian, who has been displaced from his throne by his uncle, for help. In The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, along with their cousin Eustace Scrubb, come to Narnia. They join Caspian on the voyage on the ship Dawn Treader for finding the seven lords who were expelled when Miraz took over the throne. The Silver Chair is the first Narnia book where the Pevensie children are not featured. Eustace is accompanied by his classmate Jill Pole to Narnia on Aslan's call to help in saving Prince Rilian, son of Caspian. The Horse and His Boy is the story of a talking horse called Bree and young boy named Shasta who are returning to Narnia for freedom. The Magician's Nephew is about the origins of Narnia. The book explains how Aslan created the world and about the first entry of evil into it. Digory Kirke and his friend Polly Plummer experiment with magic rings made by Digory's uncle and stumble into different worlds. The Last Battle is about the end of the world of Narnia. The Chronicles Of Narnia is considered a classic of children's literature. Over 100 million copies of the book have been sold in 47 languages. About The Authors Clive Staples Lewis was born in Belfast, Ireland, on November 29, 1898. Some of his other books include The Illustrated Screwtape Letters, Mere Christianity, Four Loves, and A Preface to Paradise Lost. Lewis studied at Malvern College for a year. While he was studying there, he became an atheist. Lewis received a scholarship to University College, Oxford, in 1916. When there was an outbreak of World War I, Lewis took a break from study and enlisted in the British Army in 1917. On May 20, 1925, Lewis was appointed Fellow and Tutor in English Literature at Oxford University. He served there for twenty-nine years until 1954. He converted to Christianity in 1931. When Lewis was at Oxford, he became one among the 20th century's most influential Christian writers. He married Joy Davidman Gresham, an American writer. In 1954, Lewis accepted the chair of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge, where his career ended. C. S. Lewis died at his home on November 22, 1963. Pauline Diana Baynes born on September 9, 1922 at Hove, Sussex, was an English book illustrator. Apart from Narnia series she has also co-authored The Coat of Many Colors, The Moses Basket, and Questionable Creatures: A Bestiary etc. She has worked on more than 100 books, particularly those by C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. She is best known for her illustrations of The Chronicles Of Narnia. She died on August 1, 2008. Cliff Nielsen is a book illustrator and comic book artist. Other than Narnia series he has also co-authored X Files YA #06 Fresh Bones, X Files YA #08 Host, and X Files YA #04 Our Town. Nielsen graduated from the Art Center College of Design where he teaches now. Nelson lives in Los Angeles.