ISBN 9780140446197,The Metaphysics

The Metaphysics




Penguin Books



Penguin Books

Publication Year 1999

ISBN 9780140446197

ISBN-10 0140446192


Number of Pages 459 Pages
Language (English)

Reference works

Aristotle's The Metaphysics is a large philosophical collection of 14 books. Aristotle's philosophy became the central branch for Western philosophical thought. Aristotle's metaphysics grew out a reaction against Plato's idealist doctrine. Aristotle was always concerned with natural phenomena. As a result, he wrote The Metaphysics which combined the rational and natural aspects of the universe. Aristotle's principal subject is "being understood as being". His philosophy asserts that something can be asserted about a thing because it exists, and not because that thing has special traits. The entire collection of texts, are centered around principal questions such as what it means to exist, what kinds of things exist in this world, and how can beings continue to exist when they undergo change in the world. The first six books in The Metaphysics deal with concepts such as the principal cause of things, how humans acquire wisdom, problems with philosophy, contradiction principles, definitions of key terms, and the hierarchy of sciences. Books 7, 8, and 9, examine concepts such as the essence of being, substance, and the nature of being a human being. Aristotle also discusses at length, concepts such potentiality and actuality. Books 10 to 14, address the philosophy of Mathematics, unity, and provide further commentaries on the concept of god. Aristotle's The Metaphysics is considered to be one of the the greatest philosophical works. In Lawson-Tancred's translation of The Metaphysics, readers will find an introductory essay that highlights the central themes of the philosophy of metaphysics.