ISBN 9780007270545,The Rest Of The Robots

The Rest Of The Robots


Isaac Asimov


Harper Collins



Harper Collins

Publication Year 1997

ISBN 9780007270545

ISBN-10 0007270542


Number of Pages 556 Pages
Language (English)


The Rest of the Robots, authored by one of the greatest minds of all times, Isaac Asimov, is a classic collection of the robot stories, all a part of the Robot series. Summary of the Book The Rest of the Robots contains eight short stories and two novels written by the genius sci-fi writer Isaac Asimov. It has four main parts: The Coming of the Robots, The Laws of Robotics, Susan Calvin and Lije Baley. A story called Satisfaction Guaranteed in the third part was adapted for the Afternoon Play Slot by BBC Radio 4. Most of the stories in the Robot series took place in the Foundation universe, another epic science fiction created by Asimov. A must read for die hard Isaac Asimov fans. About Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov was born on the 2nd of January, 1920. He was an author and a Biochemistry professor who taught at the Boston University. He was one of the most prolific writers of all time: written and edited over 500 books and about 90,000 letters and postcards. Arguably, The Foundation Series is Asimov's most eminent work. Novels of The Galactic Empire Series is set in the same imaginary universe as the novels of The Foundation Series are, but in an even earlier time. The Robot Series is a brilliant collection of short stories and novels presenting positronic robots that are governed by the Three Laws of Robotics. Perhaps the best impression of Asimov's work is that his style of writing is extremely modest. His stories rarely revolve around characters; rather they unfold mainly through talks with little action. Asimov's writings reflect his intents to create a warm connection between himself and the readers. Asimov is famously considered as a master of hard science fiction. Asimov began writing stories around the very young age of 11 and started selling his stories to science fiction magazines when he was 19. He published two volumes of his autobiography. A third one was published after his death in 1994, the epilogue for which was written by his wife, Janet Asimov. Janet also edited and published It's been A Good Life, an abridged version of his autobiographies. Many of Asimov's works have been adapted into movies and TV series, including the latest 2004 blockbuster I, Robot.