ISBN 9780552562959,The Ring Of Solomon

The Ring Of Solomon


Random House



Random House

Publication Year 2011

ISBN 9780552562959

ISBN-10 0552562955


Number of Pages 448 Pages
Language (English)


The Ring Of Solomon is the prequel to the fantasy trilogy of Bartimaeus. It narrates the story of King Solomon, Bartimaeus, and a powerful magical ring. Summary Of The Book Set in ancient Jerusalem, The Ring Of Solomon narrates the tale of King Solomon of Israel, who is an extraordinary ruler. He uses a special ring to summon great spirits to safeguard his kingdom. Bartimaeus is the witty demon who has killed his previous master, and is now enslaved by King Solomon and Khaba. Khaba is one of the 17 magicians in the court. On the other hand, King Solomon proposes to the Queen of Sheba, who refuses to marry him. Her refusal angers Solomon, and she is ordered to pay 40 sacks of frankincense or face dire consequences. The Queen decides to send her loyal guard Asmira to assassinate the King. When Khaba orders the insolent Bartimaeus and the others Djinns to build the Temple Mount, Bartimaeus causes trouble. He is caught by King Solomon. As a punishment, Bartimaeus is ordered to safeguard the Kingdom by hunting some bandits in the desert. He faces many obstacles along the way. He also comes across the mysterious Asmira and saves her from the bandits. Asmira, who is on a mission to kill Solomon and steal his ring, tempts Bartimaeus by the power and prestige that the ring could offer. Interweaving fantasy, history, and magic, The Ring Of Solomon humorously explores the themes of slavery and freedom. Will Asmira and Bartimaeus be able to steal the ring? Will Bartimaeus betray his master yet again? Will Bartimaeus realize his mistake before it's too late? Published in 2010, the book received positive acclaim from readers and critics. It has been translated into more than 30 languages. About Jonathan Stroud Jonathan Stroud is a British writer of fantasy books. Other works of Jonathan include The Screaming Staircase, The Viking Saga of Harri Bristlebeard, The Ghost of Shadow Vale, The Lost Treasure of Captain Blood, The Little Red Car, Heroes of the Valley, and the Bartimaeus trilogy that includes The Amulet of Samarkand, Ptolemy's Gate, and The Golem's Eye. Born in Bedford, Jonathan began writing at a young age. He studied English literature at the University of York and was an editor for Walker Books store in London. He currently resides in Hertfordshire with his wife, Gina, and his two kids.