ISBN 9780007299751,The Sittaford Mystery

The Sittaford Mystery


Harper Collins



Harper Collins

Publication Year 2002

ISBN 9780007299751

ISBN-10 0007299753


Language (English)

Suspense and Thriller

The Sittaford Mystery is set in the tiny and quaint village of Sittaford. Mrs. Willet and her daughter Violet are the new residents of Sittaford House, which was previously owned by a retired army officer. Mrs. Willet invites four people over for tea on a Friday afternoon and on the suggestion of Mrs. Garfield, all the six of them indulge in séance. During this séance, a spirit announces that Captain Trevelyan, who is at his house in Exhampton, has been murdered. In order to make sure that the captain is safe, Major Burnaby decides to walk the six miles to his house only to discover Captain Trevelyan’s dead body. Who murdered the Captain? Was it someone from the spirit world or is there a dangerous killer lurking around in this world?

About Agatha Christie

Agatha Mary Clarissa Christie was an English writer known for her murder mystery novels and short stories. She has also written romances under the name Mary Westmacott.

A prolific writer, Agatha Christie wrote 66 detective novels and 14 short story collections and is best remembered for characters such as Hercule Poirot, Miss Jane Marple, and Tommy and Tuppence Beresford. Some of her most famous works are: The Mysterious Affair At Styles, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, And Then There Were None and Curtain: Poirot's Last Case. Her play, The Mousetrap, holds the record as the longest initial run of any play in history, running at the West End of London since 1952. She was bestowed with the Order of the British Empire for her contributions towards English literature.