ISBN 9788124601679,Twelve Principal Upanisads (3 Vols. Set)

Twelve Principal Upanisads (3 Vols. Set)



D.K. Printworld (P) Ltd.

Publication Year 2000

ISBN 9788124601679

ISBN-10 8124601674

Hard Back

Number of Pages 1138 Pages
Language (English)


 The Upanishads are perhaps one of the oldest philosophical treatises concerned with the mystery of the Absolute. This work (in three volumes) presents a study of the twelve principal Upanishads , thus unfolding the spirit and substance of Upanishadic thought. Written in a lucid style, it offers the text of the Upanishads in Devanagari and its translation in English along with detailed noted incorporating the commentaries of prominent spiritual thinkers and teachers including Shankaracarya and Shankaranand. The authors, scholars who have put in years of intense study on the subject, here offer a fresh approach and new insights into the philosophy of absolute unity as taught by the Upanishads and its quest for answers to abstruse questions like the origin of the universe, the nature of deity and the soul, and connection of mind and matter.

The volumes are a must for scholars of Indian philosophy as well as students, and especially those genuine aspirants who wish to achieve moksha by the process of yoga for moksha is not possible without understanding the meaning of the Upanishads.



Volume 1: Isa, Kena, Katha, Prasna, Mundaka, Mandukya, Taittiriya, Aitareya and Svetasvatara Upanisads
Volume 2: Brhadaranyaka Upanisad
Volume 3: Chandogya and Kausitaki Brahmana Upanisads

Volume: 1
1. The Isha Upanishad of the Vajasaneya Samhita
2. The Kena or Talavakara Upanishad of the Sama Veda
3. The Katha Upanishad
4. The Prashna Upanishad of the Atharva Veda
5. The Mundaka Upanishad of the Atharva Veda
6. The Mandukya Upanishad of the Atharva Veda
7. The Taittiriya Upanishad
8. The Aitareya Upanishad of the Rig Veda
9. The Shvetashvatara Upanishad of the Black Yajur Veda

Volume: 2
Brihadaranyaka Upanishad
Introduction by Srimat Shankaracarya Chapter 1- 6

Volume: 3
Publishers Note
The Chandogya Upanishad
Introduction  Chapter 1- 8
The Kaushitaki Brahmana Upanishad
Introduction Chapter 1- 4.