ISBN 9785111129185,Vyankatesh Madgulkar's (Set of 41 Books)

Vyankatesh Madgulkar's (Set of 41 Books)



Mehta Publishing House

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9785111129185

ISBN-10 5111129189


Language (Marathi)

Other public performances & spectacles

Vyankatesh Madgulkar's Set Of 41 Books brings together some of the author’s best works. Written in Marathi, these books are filled with stories based on the author’s own experiences. Summary Of The Book Vyankatesh Madgulkar's Set Of 41 Books, published in 2012, is a collection of forty-one Marathi stories. Written by one of the most renowned authors of Maharashtra, these tales are mostly about life in Indian villages. The first five stories in this set are Kovale Divas, Karunashtak, Valucha Killa, Pandhari Mendhare Hiravi Kurane, and Pudhacha Paul. The sixth story, titled Mandeshi Manas, is the author’s first publication. It was released in 1949, when Madgulkar was only 22 years old. It is one of the most important pieces of Marathi literature post Indian Independence. This story speaks of the tragic lives of the impoverished people of Mandesh. The tale is heart-touching and is bound to make readers think about the poverty that exists in rural India. Some of the next few stories are Bajar, Ranmeva, Vari, and Sinhachya Deshat. The fifteenth book of this collection is Sattantar, which speaks about breaking the norms of society. As population increases, the need for resources increases along side. This makes people struggle and finally leads to confrontations. What initially starts out as a war of words, eventually turns into a war with weapons. The next four books are Chitrakathi, Parvacha, Mi Ani Maza Baap, and Sarva. In the next story, Nagzira, the author discusses his experiences of the beautiful landscapes of this place. He writes about waking up to the calls of the dayal birds and watching the wildlife. His stay in Nagzira is made even more spectacular by the disappearing moon and the slow expanse of sun rays that envelop the night. This story is followed by one called Kali Aai. In Goshti Gharakadil, the author speaks of his childhood experiences in his hometown of Mauje Madgul. In Vavtal, which translates to The Winds Of Fire, he talks about the turbulent times during which the best of friends and neighbours turn into enemies. Vata, the twenty-fourth book of this collection, shows how the protagonist wonders if he should have stuck to following just one path in life or if his choice of trying out different avenues is the better way ahead. Some of the other stories are Pandhryavar Kale, Dohatil Savalya, Ashi Manas Ashi Sahasa, Prawas Eka Lekhakacha, and Charitrarang. Through another of his books, the author shares the stories of great men and women who have dared to walk on paths less taken. He speaks about Salim Ali’s dedication towards studying birds, and how Jane Goodall, a British expert on chimpanzees, stayed in Gombe National Park in Tanzania. There are various other people mentioned in this story, some of whom are Farley Mowat, Kuno Steuben, and Marutrao Chitampalli. The last three books of Vyankatesh Madgulkar's Set of 41 Books are Janavanatil Rekhatane, Sumita, and Mantarlele Bet. About Vyankatesh Madgulkar Vyankatesh Digambar Madgulkar, born in the year 1927, was a famous Marathi writer. He worked at All India Radio for forty years and wrote his literature pieces side by side. Madgulkar has authored short stories, plays, novels, screenplays, essays, and travelogues. He was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award in the year 1983. The author passed away in 2001.