ISBN 9781447211891,Winter Of The World

Winter Of The World


Ken Follett



Pan Macmillan India

Publication Year 2012

ISBN 9781447211891

ISBN-10 1447211898


Number of Pages 640 Pages
Language (English)


Winter Of The World by Ken Follett is the second installment in the Century Trilogy, following the lives of five interconnected families whose destinies are shaped by the economic, political, and social turmoil of the events leading up to and after World War II. Summary Of The Book In Winter Of The World, author Ken Follett takes readers into history's pages, when the Nazi regime was spreading like a ravenous disease, when the Spaniards were under Franco's brutality, and when the clash between Japan and the United States led to the dropping of the atomic bomb. The novel follows the stories of five families from Britain, USA, Soviet Union, and Germany, whose lives become linked as result of the second world war and its aftermath. Against such a colourful background, Follett introduces many characters whose lives and experiences are illuminated by some of the most cataclysmic events of the century. For instance, Carla is one of the protagonists in Follett's story. Born to English and German parents, her family life is thrown into turmoil as the tide of Nazism sweeps through the nation. Soon afterwards, American brothers Chuck and Woody Dewar enter the picture. Both men pursue different life paths, where one ends up in Washington and the other in the jungles of the Pacific. Lloyd Williams is another protagonist in Follett's trilogy. He is caught in the midst of a civil unrest in Spain, fighting both Fascism and Communism. Then, the author introduces readers to two more characters, Daisy Peshkov and her cousin, Volodya. The former is a socialite whose life is transformed by the war, while the latter takes up a prominent position in the Soviet intelligence. Through the dramatic events that unfold, readers are propelled through an action-packed plot, which inextricably reveals the connection between each character. About Ken Follett Ken Follett is a bestselling British author. Some of his other titles are The Key To Rebecca, Triple, The Power Twins, and A Place Called Freedom. Follett graduated from University College London, where he studied Philosophy. He worked briefly as a journalist and then as a publisher, before taking up writing as a full time career. Follett's first novel, Eye Of The Needle, was published in 1978, which not only made him wealthy but also famous. He has authored numerous novels which grabbed the number one spot on the New York Times Bestseller List. Follett is also active in Britain's Labour Party. He is married to Barbara Broer.