ISBN 9780553825497,Worth Dying For

Worth Dying For


Lee Child


Random House



Random House

Publication Year 2011

ISBN 9780553825497

ISBN-10 0553825496


Number of Pages 544 Pages
Language (English)

Reference works

Worth Dying For follows up the story of 61 Hours. Reacher manages to escape from the dire situation he was caught in at the end of that book. In this novel, he is on his way to Virginia. He is on a quest to find the woman with whom he talked over the phone in 61 Hours. As he hitchhikes his way to Virginia, he is dropped off in a remote corner of Nebraska. He is in the middle of the farming country, a place that should be peaceful and idyllic, but is not. As usual, Reacher finds trouble in the most unlikely places. Jack Reacher helps a woman who obviously has been beaten up. Learning that it was her husband who did this to her, he finds the man and gives him a dose of his own medicine. Only, Reacher has unknowingly stirred up something evil that has its grip over that whole farming community. The Duncan family, to which the man he beat up belongs, don't take kindly to anyone messing with them. The Duncans terrorize and control the farmers in the area so that they can use all the land around for their own activities. Only, they are just the bottom of the barrell. As the Duncans discover that Reacher is not so easy to intimidate or eliminate, they call their bosses. So, out-of-town toughs also join forces with the Duncan's own hired help to face Reacher. But then, these too prove inadequate, and so the Duncans' business partners call in their partners, who then have to call their other partners. Thus, what seems like a small town band of criminals, stretches into an international criminal network. And, Jack Reacher is caught right in the middle of it. But, Reacher is not the kind who backs down, no matter what the odds. As he tries to stay alive, he is also trying to solve a decades old mystery, the disappearance of a little girl, that happened twenty years ago. Worth Dying For is sure to please all the Reacher fans out there, as he takes down all the thugs who confront him. About Lee Child Lee Child is the pen name of British writer Jim Grant. Some other books by this author are The Enemy, Bad Luck and Trouble, A Wanted Man, Nothing To Lose, Echo Burning, and Gone Tomorrow. Jim Grant was born in Coventry, England, in 1954. He has a degree in Law from Sheffield University, though he did not take up the legal profession. He joined the television industry. He was with Granada Television for several years. He worked on shows like The Jewel In The Crown, Brideshead Revisited, and Prime Suspect. He then lost his job due to corporate restructuring. Grant then decided to take up writing and his first novel featuring Jack Reacher, Killing Floor, came out in 1997. He then moved to the US. Grant has received numerous awards for his writing. These include the Anthony Award, Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, Barry Award, and the Specsavers' National Book Award.