The Living Sea of Waking Dreams 


Richard Flanagan


Chatto & Windus

Rs594 Rs699 15% OFF

Availability: Available


Chatto & Windus

Publication Year 2021


ISBN-10 1784744174


Edition First
Number of Pages 304 Pages
Language (English)
Dimensions (Cms) 13.8 x 2.4 x 21.7
Weight (grms) 302

"An ember storm of a novel, this is Booker Prize-winning novelist Richard Flanagan at his most moving―and astonishing―best.


In a world of perennial fire and growing extinctions, Anna’s aged mother is dying―if her three children would just allow it. Condemned by their pity to living she increasingly escapes through her hospital window into visions of horror and delight.


When Anna’s finger vanishes and a few months later her knee disappears, Anna too feels the pull of the window. She begins to see that all around her others are similarly vanishing, but no one else notices. All Anna can do is keep her mother alive. But the window keeps opening wider, taking Anna and the reader ever deeper into a strangely beautiful novel about hope and love and orange-bellied parrots."

Richard Flanagan

Richard Flanagan was born in Tasmania in 1961. His novels Death of a River Guide, The Sound of One Hand Clapping, Gould’s Book of Fish, The Unknown Terrorist, Wanting and The Narrow Road to the Deep North have received numerous honours and are published in 42 countries. He won the Man Booker Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North in 2014.