ISBN 9788188951765,The Wind And The Willows

The Wind And The Willows


Pigeon Books India



Pigeon Books India

Publication Year 2010

ISBN 9788188951765

ISBN-10 8188951765


Language (English)


The Wind in the Willows is a classic of children literature by Kenneth Grahame, first published in 1908. Alternately slow moving and fast paced, it focuses on four anthropomorphized animal characters (Mole, Ratty, Mr. Toad and Mr. Badger) in a pastoral version of England. Like true adventures,?Rat, Mole, Badger and Toad of Toad Hall?enjoy life's simplest pleasures and natural wonders. The novel is notable for its mixture of mysticism, adventure, morality, and camaraderie. The Wind in the Willows features in the reading-list recommended by the CBSE. About the Author Kenneth Grahame (8 March 1859 ? 6 July 1932) was a British writer, most famous for The Wind in the Willows (1908), one of the classics of children's literature. He also wrote The Reluctant Dragon; both books were later adapted into Disney films. Grahame was born on 8 March 1859 in Edinburgh, Scotland but in early childhood, after his mother died and his father began to drink heavily, he moved with his younger sister to live with his grandmother on the banks of the River Thames in the Berkshire village of Cookham in southern England. He was an outstanding pupil at St Edward's School in Oxford in Oxford and wanted to attend Oxford University but was not allowed to do so by his guardian on grounds of cost. Instead he was sent to work at the Bank of England in 1879, and rose through the ranks until retiring as its Secretary in 1908 due to ill health. In addition to ill health, Grahame's retirement was precipitated in 1903 by a strange, possibly political, shooting incident at the bank. Grahame was shot at three times, all of them missed.