ISBN 9788188043729,Kalidasa's Trilogy: Maghadootam, Kumarasambhavam, Raghuvamsham

Kalidasa's Trilogy: Maghadootam, Kumarasambhavam, Raghuvamsham


Winsome Books


Availability: Out of Stock

(+Rs. 49 Delivery Charges)
Free Shipping if total order amount is Rs . 300 or more.
We Accept
ISBN 9788188043729
Check delivery information

Winsome Books

Publication Year 2005

ISBN 9788188043729

ISBN-10 8188043729


Number of Pages 136 Pages
Language (English)

Reference Work

Kalidasas Trilogy consists of three of Kalidasas poetical works: Meghadootam, Kumarasambhavam, and Raghuvamsham. The book starts by introducing his above-mentioned works. Then the three stories are presented, not as literal translation from Sanskrit, but as an adaptation in English prose highlighting the beauty of Kalidasas poetry in every step. Except for Meghadootam , which is an original tale of a Yaksha pining for his wife and sending a love message through a cloud, Kalidasa has drawn from older sources like Puranas and Ramayana for his other works. Kumarasambhavam is about Shiva and Parvati. Raghuvamsham is about a royal family, the Suryavamsha, the family of Rama of Ramayana. The purpose of this book is to bring to the readers the treasures of Indian classic literature, so they are able to understand and appreciate its beauty and are encouraged to read the original works.