ISBN 9780007270514,Second Foundation

Second Foundation


Isaac Asimov


Harper Collins



Harper Collins

Publication Year 1995

ISBN 9780007270514

ISBN-10 0007270518


Edition 3rd
Number of Pages 240 Pages
Language (English)

Popular series

The Foundation is a science fiction series, and Second Foundation is its third novel. In the series, Hari Seldon is a mathematician who specializes in psychohistory. This branch of math helps him to predict the future behaviour of a mass of people. The more the number of people, the better the prediction. The protagonist forecasts the fall of the Galactic Empire, and works towards giving fruition to a second majestic Empire. However, The Mule, is his greatest rival as he can read the minds of others, and change their behavior as per his convenience. This disrupts the mathematician's assumption that no single person can have a significant impact on large scale galactic functions. The Mule takes over The Foundation after the destruction of the Empire, and begins to invade surrounding territories.

Second Foundation is divided into two parts, the first covering about a third of the novel. The Search By The Muleshows how this mentalic wishes to destroy the Second Foundation as it has the capability to destroy his own mental abilities. He teams up with Bail Channis to locate the Second Foundation, but the journey is filled with twists and turns. The second part of this novel is titled Search By the Foundation, and it occurs six decades after the death of The Mule. This part of Second Foundation traces the journey of Arkady Darell, a young girl, who uncovers the Second Foundation. However, is this the real answer? Or is this an answer that is provided in order to satisfy everyone? An exciting read,Second Foundation is packed with hidden surprises, conspiracies, thrills, and secrets. Unlike most science fiction books, this novel is not just about fancy gadgets. It also focuses on its characters and the relationships they share.

About Isaac Asimov

Isaac Asimov, born in 1920, is a Russian-born American professor and author. He completed his PhD in 1948 in biochemistry. He was a professor of biochemistry at Boston University.

Asimov is renowned for his works of science fiction. He has written and edited over five hundred books and ninety thousand letters. Some of his books are The End of Eternity, The Gods Themselves, Nemesis (1989), and The Ugly Little Boy (1992). His works have been published in nine of the ten major categories of the Dewey Decimal System.

Asimov was the Vice President of Mensa International. He passed away in 1992. His autobiography, It's Been A Good Life, was released ten years after his death.