ISBN 9788185822891,The Flute And The Lotus: Romantic Moments In Indian Poetry And Painting

The Flute And The Lotus: Romantic Moments In Indian Poetry And Painting


Mapin Publishing



Mapin Publishing

Publication Year 2002

ISBN 9788185822891

ISBN-10 8185822891


Number of Pages 228 Pages
Language (English)


This is a book about romantic moments, heart throbbing moments, soul-stirring moments and enchanted moments that have inspired poets, enlivened courts and enriched havelis and been celebrated by our artists, been patronized by the raja and indulged in by the praja. Sensual moments alive with passion and radiant with emotion are equally of amorous pleasure and heart-rending pathos. Such romantic moments are a very special part of the love between a man and a woman. The author traces the development of romantic poetry in the Indian tradition starting with ancient poetry in Prakrit from the fourth century court of Hala, through the Tamil Aham poetry, to Kalidasa's creations in classical Sanskrit, the 10th canto of the Bhagvata Purana, Jayadeva's Geeta Govinda, the poetry of Bihari, Keshavdas and Bhanu data of the ritikal period in the bhashas, Sufi romantic poetry and finally the poetry of the seasons and ragas.

About the Author
Harsha V Dehejia has a double Doctorate in Medicine and in Ancient Indian Culture, both from the University of Bombay. He is a member of the Royal College of Physicians of London and Glasgow and Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons, Canada. He is Professor of Religion at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada and is a practising physician. His special interests are in Indian Aesthetics. His first two books, The Advaita of Art and Parvatidarpana, published from Delhi have been acclaimed.

Table of Contents
Anuraga: The First Glance
Romantic Moments In Poetry
Romantic Moments In Painting
Virag: The Changing Colours of Love
Chitramanjari: A Bouquet of Paintings
Krishna Shringar Krishna of Love
Prem Rasa Sufi Stories of Love
Shringar Kavya The Poems of Love
Shangar and Shringar Adornment and Love
Nayikas and Nayakas The Heros and Heroines of Love
Barahmasa The Seasons of Love
Ragamala The Music of Love
Sakhis and Sakhas Messengers of Love