ISBN 9782014101409,The Hunger Games: Mocking Jay (Set of 3 Books)

The Hunger Games: Mocking Jay (Set of 3 Books)


Scholastic Books



Scholastic Books

Publication Year 2014

ISBN 9782014101409

ISBN-10 201410140X


Number of Pages 1184 Pages
Language (English)


The collectors edition set:
Consists of the three books, the hunger games, catching fire and Mocking jays movie-tie-in editions. The books are set in an uncertain future in the totalitarian regime of Panem, created after the destruction of North America. The entire country is dominated by the rich state known as the Capitol.
In the Capitol, the people are rich and live lavish lives. In the rest of the districts, however, the conditions are deplorable and the people extremely poor. The Capitol arranges an annual event called the hunger games, in which, citizens from the rest of the 12 districts fight till their death in a dangerous arena which is televised to the entire country. The citizens are selected by lottery. The district that wins, receive numerous rewards, food and supplies for its people from the Capitol. The event serves as entertainment to the Capitol and is a method for them to assert their dominance.
In the story, Katniss evergreen volunteers to participate in place of her sister when she is selected to participate by lottery. The trilogy follows her as she faces many dangers in the course of the games. Further along the trilogy, the other districts rise in rebellion against the dictatorship of the Capitol and its leader, President Snow. Katniss is a major part of the rebellion. The trilogy weaves its way through a number of conspiracies, plans and twists.
The hunger Games trilogy (Set of 3 books) has been extremely well received by the worldwide audience. It has been one of the bestselling series of all time with over 26 million books sold. The books have been adapted to film. The first book, the hunger games, was released as a film in March 2012. The second book, catching fire, was released in November 2013 and the third film on Mockingjay, part 1 is to be released in Nov. 2014 followed by part 2 scheduled in 2015. 

About the Author

Suzanne Collins has had a successful and prolific career writing for children's television. She has worked on the staffs of several Nickelodeon shows, including the Emmy-nominated hit Clarissa explains it all and the mystery files of Shelby Woo. Collins made her mark in children's literature with the New York Times bestselling five-book series for middle-grade readers the under land chronicles, which has received numerous accolades in both the United States and abroad. In the award-winning the hunger games trilogy, Collins continues to explore the effects of war and violence on those coming of age. Collins lives with her family in Connecticut.